How to become PMP – Introduction


PMI_PMP_logo I obtained my PMP certification a few weeks ago and I decided to write about my experience and to start a short walkthrough guide.

In this first attempt I would like to introduce you to PMP which for those that just started searching about the certification, it stands for Project Management Professional and it is provided by PMI, the Project Management Institute, a USA organization. I mention this because PMP is very recognizable there in contrast to the UK where Project Management profession has its own certification, Prince2.

This doesn’t mean that PMP has no value in Europe, I just say that there are other PM certifications as well. And before you start your journey with PMP is good to know that you have made the correct decision.

Now in order to become PMP is not easy but it is not difficult either. There are other exams out there that are tougher (CFA or GMAT). But of course the level of the exam difficulty is not a measure of quality. From my point of view the quality of every certification is correlated with the acceptance of the market. The more accepted it is the higher quality it is.

For people who wonder how much time they have to spend studying there is no unique answer. It depends on the experience and I will come back to that in the future but on average I would say about 4 months +/- 1 month.

So are you ready for a PMP trip? Keep in touch and feel free to ask me any question you want.

PS:The photo is a registered trademark of PMI.

Σχολιάστε